For dinner tonight I made a dish that used boneless pork chops and was topped with an onion, orange, and brown sugar sauce.  It tasted great!  I got inspiration for the recipe here.  I decided to serve the dish with potato and zucchini pancakes (which I’ll talk about in my next post) and some frozen mixed veggies.  Everything tasted great, but cooking everything ended up being more time consuming than I’m used to–everything took about an hour and 15 minutes to set up and cook.

Pork Chops with Orange and Brown Sugar Sauce

Ingredients:

2 teaspoons vegetable oil

4 boneless pork chops

1/2  large onion, thinly sliced

1/4 cup orange juice (I used juice of 1 medium orange)

2 tablespoons brown sugar

black pepper

Directions:

– Heat oil in skillet over medium heat.

– Sprinkle pork chops with black pepper on each side.  Add to skillet and cook 3-4 minutes on each side, or until slightly browned. Cooking times varies depending on thickness of chops.

– While pork chops are cooking, gather the rest of the ingredients.  When pork chops are finished, remove from skillet and cover to keep warm.  (I like to set the pork chops on paper towels to soak up some of the excess oil).

– In the same skillet, cook the onion for about 3 minutes, or until tender.  Push the onions to one side, remove skillet from heat, and add orange juice and sugar.  Then, place skillet back over heat and cook for another minute or so until sugar is dissolved.  Stir the onions back in with the sauce, then place over pork chops.

I happen to really like cooked onions, so I was happy with the quantity, but you can always add less if you aren’t the biggest fan.  Also, I was looking for a little bit more orange taste, so I would recommend increasing the orange juice quantity. This may also be because I used the juice of an actual orange and orange juice from a carton may have a stronger orange taste.  As I said before, I served with potato and zucchini pancakes.

What’s your favorite way to serve pork chops?  I’m always looking for new suggestions!

