I grew up with the same formula for dinner every night: protein + starch + veggie.  I’ve learned to explore different protein and vegetable recipes, but always seem bored with starches.  I don’t find them very exciting and usually want to neglect them whenever I’m not cooking pasta.  To get me more excited (and to please my mom, who I was cooking for and who demands some starch), I decided to try something completely new: potato pancakes!  I had heard of people using other vegetables along with potatoes, so I added some zucchini to mine.  I think they turned out really well for me first time!

Potato and Zucchini Pancakes

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon oil

1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter

1 cup peeled, grated potato (a little less than one medium potato)

1 cup peeled, grated zucchini (about one and a half medium zucchini)

1 egg, beaten

salt

pepper

garlic powder (if desired)

onion powder (if desired)

Directions:

– Put grated zucchini and potato in a dish towel and ring out extra water.

– Combine beaten egg, potato, zucchini, and seasonings in a bowl. Mix together.

– Heat oil and butter in skillet over medium heat.

– Form mixture into patties and place in skillet.  Flatten with spatula. (Important to get them pretty flat–otherwise they won’t get crisp on the inside).

– Cook about 3 minutes on each side, until brown and crispy.

They turned out well!

Do you have any great starch recipes?  Always in need of more!

