I recently completed a 10 month training program for a half marathon and ran the St. Jude Country Music Half Marathon in Nashville on April 28th.  I did better than I had hoped for (1:54) and want to contine my running bug.  My goal is to run 40 miles a month.  This wan’t too hard to complete for May since I wasn’t working for most of it.  Actually, I have yet to complete it, but I’m pretty confident I will since I currently have run 39 miles and am planning to work out after work today. 

My goal will probably be difficult and take some real effort to complete for the rest of summer because I have now started working from 8:30-5 Monday through Friday.  I’m not the type of person to wake up extermely early in the morning and get my workout over with, so that means I’ll have to push myself to get it done after a long day of work. 

I have found that setting concrete goals helps me accomplish things.  So here I go–I will run 40 miles a month for at least June.  I plan to readjust or reset my goal for July and on once I see how this goes. I haven’t had a real 40 hour a week job yet, so I’m worried how tired I’ll end be, but wish me luck!

Do you have any summer fitness goals?

How do you fit exercise into your busy schedule?

